Home | About Us | Visitor | Lecture | Conference | | About Chern | Links
Your Location :about us
Research Members
Molin Ge Yiming Long
Weiping Zhang Bill Chen
Chengming Bai Jingling Chen
Liang Chang Huitao Feng
Fangwei Fu Qiongling Li
Guangxiang Su Zizhou Tang
Chi-Keung Ng Jiangong You
Guowei Yu Maolin Zhou
Qi Zhou Chaofeng Zhu
Aifang Chen Jianqing Chen
Lingyu Deng Feng Du
Guoping Feng Can He
Deling Hu Hongqin Li
Jun Li Ning Lu
Yuhan Ma Jing Wang
Wen Xue Bo Zhang
Yantao Zhang

Chern Institute of Mathematics (CIM*) was founded through the initiative of the late Professor Shiing-Shen Chern, who was also the first director of the Institute until 1992. The current director is Professor Chengming Bai. The Theoretical Physics Division in the Institute was founded in 1986 by the Nobel Prize laureate Chen Ning Yang. Professor Chengming Bai is the chairman of this Division.
CIM is an open research institution. Its goal is to push forward the development of pure and applied mathematics, to promote the mathematical research in China, and to improve communication between mathematicians. The principle of CIM as proposed by Professor Chern in 1985 is: based at Nankai, facing the whole country, and viewing the world.
CIM has organized many academic activities on various subjects, and trained a large number of young mathematicians. Through these efforts, CIM has made important contribution to the development of mathematics in China and to the improvement of connections between Chinese and international mathematical community. In 2005, CIM started the Visiting Scholar Program. This program supports visiting scholars around the world, and reserves a certain quota for mathematicians from midwest and remote areas in China. In November of 2008, CIM started the annual Call for Proposals of Academic Activity Program in order to attract more active mathematicians in China and oversea to organize conferences and workshops in CIM.
The research interest of the faculty members at CIM covers a wide range of subjects, including differential geometry, nonlinear analysis and symplectic geometry, algebraic geometry, number theory, partial differential equations, operator algebra, coding theory, cryptography, information theory, mathematical physics, etc.
CIM is supported by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Finance of China. It also receives support from R. R. Shaw, K. C Wong Education Foundation, Shiing-Shen Chern Foundation, Ministry of Science and Technology of China, National Natural Science Foundation of China, etc.

Theoretical Physics Division at CIM
The Theoretical Physics Division at CIM was founded in 1986 by Professor Chen Ning Yang, who was invited by Professor Shiing-Shen Chern to direct the research. Currently there are three professors and one Changjiang Visiting Professor (Antti Niemi) in this division. The main research interest is mathematical physics and its applications in physics, including quantum intergrable systems, Yang-Mills field theory, Yang-Baxter system, quantum groups, algebraic structures of correlation systems, Yangian, and knot theory. It hosts many conferences, such as the Conference of Differential Geometric Methods in Theoretical Physics and the Colloquium on Group-Theoretical Methods in Physics. More than 100 physicists and mathematicians around the world, such as M. Atiyah, F. Dyson, J. Wess and L. Faddeev, have visited the Theoretical Physics Division at CIM.

Chern Institute of Mathematics, Nankai University, Tianjin 300071 China
Tel: 86-22-2350-8228, Fax: 86-22-2350-8114, Email:cim@nankai.edu.cn
Copyright 2006 Chern Institute of Mathematics